Site Loader
Rock Street, San Francisco

The first movement of
the symphony no 5 is  in the form of
Sonata allegro form. As we all know, the sonata allegro form has two themes,
exposition, development and recapitulation. The opening of the first movement,
the first bar consist of four notes which is quaver is the main motif and one
of the famous sound of classical music. The strings and clarinet play unison.
Firstly, the exposition in sonata form is the first section of the movement in
which the themes are introduced. There are usually two main themes in classical
sonata form but there can be less or more. First themes and second theme, in exposition the first and
second theme are introduced. Then, the exposition is then repeated. The first
theme; the first beat of the first bar is a quaver rest the followed by three
quaver. Then  second bar is a minim with
a pause sign. Then after the first theme comes the bridge before the second
theme starts. The first theme is played ff followed by minims
tied together which total of 26 beats. Then, the second theme, is the contrast
the first theme. The dynamic is piano with the direction to play dolce
(sweetly). The theme has a four bar melody with an even rhythm using
crotchet beats which starts from bar 63. In the development, the composer plays
around with the themes in order to make them different using different of
techniques including changing the mood, changing the tempo, make clashing
sounds, using only parts of the themes, using different combination of
instruments, changing the key to major or minor to major or moving to other
major or minor keys, pr changing rhythms such is doubling or halving the value
of the notes changing to a dotted (uneven) rhythmic pattern. Inverting the
themes or changing the order of the notes. In the last movement of the sonata
allegro form which is the recapitulation, the themes from the exposition return
in the original key.

Last but not least, the symphony no 5 consist of four
movement in particular, the first movement as mentioned earlier is in sonata
allegro form, then now, come to the second movement. The second movement is the
theme and variation form, which also known the andante con moto. The
second movement is slower and calmer in spirit, set in the contrasting key of A
flat major. Although basically in theme and variations form, it resemble a bit
of Haydn’s “Surprise symphony”. The third movement, is in the form of Ternary form which is
in Allegro. One of the important changes made in the classical symphony in
Beethoven’s time was the
replacement of the third movement minuet with a scherzo or some other style of
composition. A scherzo is generally in the triple meter of the minuet, but
tends to be lighter and quicker than the earlier dance movement. It is perform
in moderately large orchestra, in the time of simple triple meter, in the tempo
of Allegro. The rhythm of opening motive of first movement recurs in second
theme. However the melody, first theme begins with rising arpeggio; second
theme stresses repeated notes. The third theme is lighter and quicker than the
first two. The harmony is mainly minor mod which is in C Minor in section A. C
major in section B. The las movement which is the fourth movement is the
allegro presto which also in sonata form. With the opening chord of this
finale. Beethoven establishes the brilliant key in major key. The symphonic
debut of the trombone and the aded rich colors and piccolo contrabasson

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

Post Author: admin


I'm Dora!

Would you like to get a custom essay? How about receiving a customized one?

Check it out